

International Council of the Aeronautical Sciences



ICAS Honorary Fellow



Boris Laschka Professor Dr.-Ing. *1934 ICAS Program Committee Chairman 1982 – 1986 ICAS President 1986 – 1990 ICAS Honoraray Fellow (Life Member) 2002

Academia and Science: Boris Laschka has graduated as Dipl.-Ing. in Mechanical Engineering (1958) and Dr.-Ing. (1963) at the Technische Universitaet Muenchen. In 1976 he was appointed to "Chair of Fluidmechanics" at the Technische Universitaet Braunschweig. In 1987 the Northwestern Polytechn. Univ. from Xi'an, PR China, appointed him to its "Honorary Professor". His scientific achievments are related to aerodynamics, flutter, A/C icing, buffeting, in particular, however, to unsteady aerodynamics. His subsonic unsteady lifting surface theory including interfering surfaces were recognized contribution as well as the Small Disturbance Euler and Navier-Stokes computational methods and experiments on turbulent flow structures.

Industry: From 1958 till 1978 he filled leading line positions for "Aerodynamics" in the German Aerospace Industry (Heinkel, Vereinigte Flugtechn. Werke, Messerschmitt-Boelkow-Blohm, Airbus, Panavia). He started with responsabilities in aeroelasticity for the supersonic VTOL experimental A/C EWR VJ 101. Later on, during development and flight test he was put in charge as project manager "Flight Physics" for the trinational projects Airbus A300 and A310 (1969-1978) and "Technology" for Tornado MRCA (1974-1978) representing the German partner. Furtheron, he was given contracts for special investigations for the "SAAB Viggen" and for the "Eurofighter Typhoon".

Advisory Functions: Between 1979 and 1999 he had an appointment as "Advisor for Aeronautics" to the "Minister of Research and Technology" and from 1998/99 to the "President" of the Republic of Indonesia. There he assisted in the development and flight test of the 40 pax CN 235 and the 80 pax N 250. Furtheron he participated in definition, design, and construction of the 3x4 m² Indonesian low speed wind tunnel ILST in Serpong.

He adviced the "German Ministry for Reseach and Technology" as member and chairman of several committees, such as for the "German/Dutch Wind Tunnel, DNW", for the "European Cryogenic Wind Tunnel, ETW" and for "Aeron. Research and Technology" (1976-1988). The "Ministry of Defense" delegated him to NATO-AGARD as SMP and FDP Member (1974-1986). He contributed to the "Deutsches Zentrum fuer Luft- und Raumfahrt, DLR" as Member of the Senat and Chairman of the Scientific/Technical Board (1978-1988). He was founding member and chairman of the "European Consortium for Training and Education in Aeronautics, ECATA".

Societies: Already in 1966 he was elected to the board of the German Society for Aero-and Astronautics (DGLR). His service there - also as council member and president (1976/77) - lasted till 1999. Among other functions he chaired the editors of the German "Journal for Flight Sciences and Space Research, ZFW"

Honors & Awards: AIAA Honorary Fellow 1999, Ludwig-Prandtl-Ring (DGLR) 2002, Frecce d'Argento (AIDAA) 1990. Maurice-Roy-Award (ICAS) 2004, Member "Int. Acad. Astron." and Member "Acad. de l'Air et de l'Espace".

Decorations: Verdienstkreuz der Bundesrepublk Deutschland (Cross of Merit, Federal Republic of Germany)

Bintang Jasa Nararya, Indonesia (Star of Service Nararya, Indonesia), 1994